Who is Dr. Douglas Roland Smith?

Dr. DI was born and raised in Salt Lake City. Following graduation from the University of Utah with a Bachelor of Science in biology, I was fortunate to spend five years conducting medical research while attending the Medical College of Wisconsin in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

As an outgrowth of my medical education I developed an understanding of many problems with the current fragmented and inefficient health care model. I chose to become a family medicine physician, envisioning primary care as the essential central cog in a more patient-centered and holistic approach to future health care reform models.

In 2006 I completed my medical training from the Intermountain Healthcare McKay Dee Family Medicine Residency in Ogden, where I worked closely with the indigent and minority populations of Northern Utah. Following residency and until last last year, I have been engaged in full-time practice with Intermountain Healthcare in the underserved, or financially troubled, and demographically diverse area of West Valley City, Utah. These experiences have etched in me the desire to help solve the problems far too many suffer every day in relation to obtaining affordable and quality care.

Through my clinical experience, I have tried to be a front-line adopter of the best clinical practices with Intermountain Healthcare, which is known worldwide for their high-quality clinical processes and outcomes. In 2010, I became board certified in Hospice and Palliative Care Medicine as an extension to my Family Medicine Board Certification.

It is my goal and passion to develop new and inventive ways to provide quality care to patients in a fiscally constricted environment. To accomplish this lofty goal and disrupt the market with payment reform, I took a position with Arches Health Plan as their Chief Medical Officer last year.

Leave a comment